Wednesday, December 31, 2014


15 cm x 20 cm, Oil

Happy new year 2015!

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Winter Call

30 cm x 22.5 cm, Oil

Monday, December 29, 2014

Trying on

20 cm x 15 cm, Oil

In Full Bloom

15 cm x 20 cm, Oil

Saturday, December 27, 2014

Blockstudies 245 & 246, time-limited

A4 Wood Panel, Oil, 30 min & 20 min

Small Color Melody

20 cm x 15 cm, Oil

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Happy Christmas Everyone!

22.5 cm x 30 cm, Oil

Monday, December 22, 2014

Away from LEDs

25 cm x 25 cm, Oil

Friday, December 19, 2014

Naja 2

25 cm x 25 cm, Oil

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Blockstudy 244

20 cm x 15 cm, Oil

Kaiserring, finished painting

30 cm x 25 cm, Oil

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Walk on Water

Reference Photo

Artrage Study

25 cm x 25 cm, Oil

New personal record in paint thickness ;-)

Monday, December 15, 2014

Three Apples

20 cm x 15 cm, Oil

Sunday, December 14, 2014

Nameless Training

20 cm x 15 cm, Oil

Three Cherries

15 cm x 15 cm, Oil

Friday, December 12, 2014

SWR3 Elk

25 cm x 25 cm, Oil

SWR3 is Germany's most popular radio station and this elk is the mascotte. This painting will be shipped with this plushie. Like always i offer to take back the painting within 14 days after receipt. The right to return, however, does not include the plushie, buyer must keep it. Paper not included.

Thursday, December 11, 2014


30 cm x 22.5 cm, Oil

Wednesday, December 10, 2014


Artrage Study from Photos

Tuesday, December 9, 2014


Artrage Compositional Study from Photo

Monday, December 8, 2014

Ring Crossing Artrage Study

I did not know where to go with the oil painting, decided to take a photo of it and rework it with Artrage (iPad painting app). I think i will leave it there.

Saturday, December 6, 2014

Ring Crossing... in progress

40 cm x 30 cm, Oil

Tuesday, December 2, 2014

242 & 243

Artrage Color Work

I am playing a lot with photos, trying to enhance the feeling of space by searching for better colors. Not sure yet whether this kind of work will bring me anywhere. It is fun and I feel pulled to do it... so probably yes.

Monday, December 1, 2014

Boot Criterion

Sep 2013

Dec 2014

20 cm x 15 cm, Oil, 1h time-limited studies of the same boot.

Mannheim Color Study (Artrage Software)... Ongoing...

Sunday, November 30, 2014

Exits from Heidelberg

Din A4 Wood Panel, Oil

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Life Figure Session BBK Mannheim, Nov 26

Din A4 Wood Panels, Oil, 7 min Poses, with Chair: 15 min

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Watercolor Experiment

38 cm x 29 cm, Watercolor

My first watercolor painting since i was a kid. Just wanted to know how it feels. Fun. Back to the oils!

Monday, November 24, 2014

Skeleton with Muscles, Backside

Din A3 Wood Panel, Oil


15 cm x 20 cm, Oil

I had another two quick approaches to faces with desasterous outcome, even worse than before. Probably too much speed work recently. I felt I needed to slow down and did this one in about 3h.

Sunday, November 23, 2014

Palette Knife Study

20 cm x 15 cm, Oil

This is my first painting done without brushes. Will take many to get used and a shorter knife for such small formats.

Saturday, November 22, 2014

Design Proposal, Male

In case you found the last ones bad... how do you call this? I worked 27 mins at it before giving up. Well, after this little project i will certainly have a usefull set of references on where my drawing stands.

20 Minute Faces 3 & 4

15 cm x 20 cm, Oil

For posting the photos on blogger i need to upload them on the picasa web album. There i was asked "who is this?". The software recognized these to be faces of a human beings! 
Great, i can't be that far off then ;-) Celebrate your successes!

Friday, November 21, 2014

20 Minute Faces 1 & 2

There are two more life sessions left next week to gather some studies for the exhibition on Dec 3rd. I did plenty of figures in the last two weeks and think it did help me to improve on this somewhat. However, I decided to stop the home figure training from photos for now. I feel a bit tired of it and that's my signal. Like with anything we do or learn, progress is fast at the beginning but tends to slow down after a while. So in terms of overall improvement it is better to frequently find a new (yet related) thing to improve on. A new challenge bringing the fun back.

I think i will give time-limited face studies a try. I am not sure whether that's the best way to move forward, but it sounds like great fun. I have great respect for portraiture painting, therefore I avoid to call these portraits. They may look like it, but i have also no intention to create caricatures/ political cartoons (laughter welcome anyway). Just want to learn painting more accurately (yet loose therefore time-limited) to capture faces with better resemblance.

20 cm x 15 cm, Oil, 20 min time-limited

No Madam... well, i agree that resemblance isn't great but not that he looks so much better in real!